Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    4 Posts
    Chats
    Groans
    Groaned 0 Times in 0 Posts

New to the Castskills and NY fly fishing scene

Hi my name is Chris R, last week I posted some of my western trout art on the site. This week I'm searching for info.

I am new to fly fishing and cut my teeth in the sport last summer in Wyoming. I had the luck of working out in the Tetons and fished on all the valleys streams I could get to after work. The upper lower Snake, Arizona ck, Turpine Meadows, Polecat, Gros Ventre, Buffalo Forks, Pilgrim ck. All freestone water.

I had to move back to the east for personal reasons and find myself just south of the Catskills. I am looking forward to getting back on the water and having some epic days catching browns and bows and maybe even some brookies; but am somewhat confused as to where I should start exploring the local Catskill waters. The neversink is closest and flyfisherman did a fine job of presenting that water in the most rescent issue.

What I'd like is some experienced advice. Where would be a good place to start exploring? I will be wade fishing only. Should I run right up to the west/east branch of the D or start on the beaver, willo, or the neversink.; and what about the feeders to these streams can one have a raucous time fishing the smaller feeders of the beaver, willo, and never. How about ease of access and parking??? This area is alien to me???

My prefered weapon of choice is a 3wt setup but am equiped for 5wt and 6wt also. So fellas or ladies how about some advise for the new guy on the block???

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1,068 Posts
    Chats
    Groans
    Groaned 11 Times in 11 Posts

Re: New to the Castskills and NY fly fishing scene

Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    Hi my name is Chris R,

I had to move back to the east for personal reasons
    Care to share in those reasons???