Canandaigua N.Y. "The Fingerlakes Region of Western N.Y."
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Chats
    Groans
    Groaned 0 Times in 0 Posts

Question Areas to go for Fall Trout Fishing in the Finger Lakes?

I am new to fly fishing and would like any advice on where to go this fall for trout? Any and all help is appreciated!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Chats
    Groans

Re: Areas to go for Fall Trout Fishing in the Finger Lakes?

Jim,

I see you're a little NW of me. I'd suggest the Cohocton because it's a reasonable distance for a day trip and I don't know the waters up by you. If you are looking for more than a day, then you've got a lot of areas you can cover.

Allan

Allan

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Chats
    Groans

how about the outlet to keluka lake, or any stream running into the lakes for fall browns.

sandfly/bob
    Flyfishing instructor, Tying and Shop owner
    www.bigmeadowsflyshop.com
    N.J.B.B.A.2215
    formally Bucks now Tioga Co. Pa.
    there's a fine line between Sane and Insane !

I did not escape----They gave me a day pass !!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    387 Posts
    Chats
    Groans
    Groaned 6 Times in 6 Posts

Up until Oct 15 (end of general trout season) I like the gorges that have trout in them - look at stocking lists. It's a blast to fish all the little pockets and plunge pools.

The tribs fishing in the Finger Lakes is hit or miss, but when you hit it is great. The tribs and runs are small and the fish move in and out quickly. The landlocks start in October and the browns in November. It is basically wait until a rain brings the water up and the fish in and do a ton of driving around to find fish. Same flies and techniques as steelhead more or less - it's kind of like Great Lakes trib fishing with less and smaller fish (and less crowds).